Galgorm Dental News

Updates, thoughts, stories and ideas from the team at Galgorm Dental

We won! Dental Practice of the Year!

08 Mar 2017

Galgorm Dental have revealed Dental Practice of the Year Winners at the 18th Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards.

The sector’s finest were out in force on the 23rd February as the Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards got underway.

Our very own Galgorm Dental Partner Dougie Thom (not in picture) could not make the event as his wife, Pauline Thom, was receiving her own Coach of the Year Award at a different event! All our Galgorm Dental team would like to congratulate her too!

We could not do this without our loyal customer base and we look forward to bringing even more perfect smiles to Northern Ireland in the future.

Watch below as our team would like to thank you for all your support…



More about the Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards.

Now in its 18th year, the annual event is dedicated to celebrating those whose exceptional expertise and contribution to their profession have transformed the provision of healthcare for the better.

This year, renowned broadcaster, Pamela Ballantine, took on presenting duties, humorously guiding the proceedings and entertaining the 340-strong crowd who gathered in Belfast within the elegant setting of the Europa Hotel.

Drawing on the industry’s diversity, the 12 accolades up for grabs ranged from Dental Practice of the Year, to Medical Student Leadership, and Innovation in Ophthalmology. And in an especially moving moment, an astounded Dr Rosemary Black was revealed as the worthy recipient of the Lifetime Achievement honour in tribute to her role as Associate Specialist in Dermatology at the Southern Health and Social Care Trust.

The gala was devised by publishing specialists MEDCOM – responsible for UK-wide healthcare and pharmacy magazines, websites, and digital alerts.

All the winners and their stories of success will be featured in the forthcoming edition of Northern Ireland Healthcare Review, while the exclusive pictures can now be viewed online by visiting

Winners in Full

Asthma Project of the Year: Dr Keith McCollum Willowbank Surgery & Dr Terry McManus WHSCT Respiratory Team (joint winners)

Dental Hygienist/Therapist of the Year: Lorna McGrath

GP/Pharmacist Partnership Working: Dr Rose McCullagh & Bernard Brannigan, Grosvenor Road Surgery

Pharmacy Student Leadership: Oliver McKee, University of Ulster

Most Innovative Use of an eHealth Solution for Patient Care and Safety: Professor Jim McLaughlin & Team NICHIC

Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year: Dr Ruth Millar & the Medicine’s Optimisation in Older People Team – WHSCT & NHSCT

Pharmacy Practice of the Year Independent: Sharon Diamond & O’Kanes Pharmacy Draperstown

Medical Student Leadership: Patrick Hickland & Cathal O’Hagan (joint winners)

Dental Practice of the Year: Galgorm Dental Team

Innovations in Ophthalmology: Miss Sonya George & the Neuro-Ophthalmic Visual Impairment in Children Team

Clinical Leadership Team of the Year: Dr Peter Kennedy & the Radiology Department Team BHSCT

Special Recognition Award: Dr Rosemary Black

- Dougie Thom